illustration

Octopus

I’ve been working on doing more illustrations with animals lately, to put a little variety in my portfolio. I’ve drawn quite a few octopi in my sketchbooks but I never got around to doing a finished illustration with one. Now I can mark that off my list. This is another example of my experiments in color and technique. I chose to draw the lines with pencil instead of ink, because of the greater control it gives my over my line quality. It hard to get pencils to scan as bold and crisp as inked lines but I’m a control freak when it comes down to my lines. I need every single line to go exactly where I want it to be satisfied. The coloring is a combo of flat colors, gradients, textures and layer blending modes.

+Click the pic to see a larger size.
Octopus

Standard

Leave a Reply

