illustration

Loving and missing

Arc de Triumph

I miss…

IN-N-Out Burger.
As a native southern californian this is an essential part of my diet. If you’ve ever eaten there, you know why I miss it. It’s not that I can’t find a decent burger in Tokyo, it’s just that you can’t find anything that good as cheap as IN-N-Out.

…understanding.
You take communication and understanding granted, until your world changes and you move to somewhere where you aren’t fluent in the local language. Learning a new language is a fun process, but it’s tough and sometimes you feel like giving up in frustration. When your daily life depends on your language skills, you learn quickly.

…driving.
I really, really enjoy driving. Cars are another hobby of mine, although I haven’t been keeping up with them as much lately. Sometimes I have the urge to just get behind the wheel and take a drive somewhere. Unfortunately in Tokyo, driving a car in the city is incredibly expensive and inconvenient. Maybe I’ll rent a car and take a trip to the countryside soon.

Paris

Currently loving…

…public transportation. Japan’s public transportation system is amazing. Always punctual, clean and efficient. Using the subways in Paris doesn’t even compare, and Southern California’s public transportation…? None existant. Being able to hope on a train that arrives every 3 minutes, and jet across to the other side of the city in 15 minutes for less than the price of a McDonalds cheeseburger. Priceless.
Veronica Fish’s Blog. She’s constantly putting out tons of amazing work and managing to blog it all and then some. I can’t keep up. O_o

Paris but still missing Tokyo. It’s funny, since I moved to Tokyo I haven’t been homesick for SoCal; I just miss a few things from there that I can’t bring with me. But I’m visting Paris for the first time ever and all I can think about is what I will do when I return to Tokyo. Has Tokyo become my new home? Or is your home just the last place you visited? I don’t know, it’s a strange feeling longing for a country I still don’t quite fully understand.

Danielle Meder’s blog. Another amazing illustrator with a work ethic that keeps me inspired, but her recent move to London parallels my own move to Tokyo. Reading her posts about her excitement, struggle, and worries is something I can relate to perfectly right now. I don’t know exactly where I’m going and what I’m doing, but I’ve already jumped off into the deep end so the only thing left to do is keep swimming. Sinking is not an option.

Twitter. The type of work the an illustrator does, by nature, is can be very isolating and lonely. I enjoy connecting with many other illustrators/creatives who share the same interests/ambitions as me and twitter fills(at least some) of that need.  I need interaction.

Taiyaki. It’s shaped like a fish (but doesn’t taste like one) and with various sweet filings.

Hanami(cherry blossoms). I can’t wait to get back to Tokyo so I can see cherry blossoms in Japan for the first time!

…my iMac. The big screen makes doing everything better.

work in progress

Standard

One thought on “Loving and missing

Leave a Reply

